School or Rock – Day 3 – Basics and Foundations

SUMMARY

Today I learned about music theory, songwriting and more about Soundtrap.

CLASSROOM

This video was very interesting and helped me understand music theory and chords better. Him saying that music theory was like a language and that the more you use it, the more it will make sense was also a good point.

LAB

Explore some more songs at https://www.hooktheory.com/theorytab/charts/chart/top

22 by Taylor Swift is in G Major and had a tempo of 104 bpm

Bad Blood by Taylor Swift is in E Minor and had a tempo of 86 bpm

Perfect by One Direction is in D Major and had a tempo of 100 bpm

I noticed that the happier songs (Perfect and 22) were in a major key whereas Bad Blood which isn’t a very happy song was in a minor key and had less bpm.

PRACTICE ROOM

Watch these videos and connect your guitar to Soundtrap and get some sound happening. Have fun exploring audio options.

  • I learned how to hook up a guitar and use it in Soundtrap.

OUTSIDE / WALK / JOURNAL

My main nemesis is probably anxiety and the thing I’m trying to accomplish would be to cope with it.

STUDIO

Start American Songwriter Andrea Stolpe’s series: How to Write a Song: Use Imagery and Small Moments

I like this technique in writing because it makes songs more interesting

CONTROL ROOM

Continue Soundtrap.com expert training. Pick tutorials that interest you.

https://academy.soundtrap.com/p/soundtrap-expert

Get to Know the Studio

Explore the Regions

Explore Tracks

  • I learned how to use “snap to grid” and how to change the time signature in Soundtrap

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

I learned about music theory and how chords are formed at the beginning of the day. I didn’t have any problems that I can remember so that’s good. I also learned some cool stuff about imagery in songwriting!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *