School of Rock – Day 10 – Community

SUMMARY

Today I learned more about how famous songs are made and I made something that sounds pretty cool in SoundTrap.

LEADERSHIP ACTIVITY

Today I will work in SoundTrap and continue to perfect my song.

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

Watch Rhett Shull: 5 Things I Wish I Knew As A Beginner Guitarist (13:42)

Read How to Practice Guitar Chords: Exercises, Tips, and Advice

Image embedded from guitargearfinder.com

5 Things I Wish I Knew As A Beginner Guitarist

-Don’t play so hard

-Learn the basics of music theory

-Spend more time learning about how guitars and amps work

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Explore SongExploder .net episodes

Explore Holistic Songwriting’s Artist Series

Explore Genius’ Songs Deconstructed Series

Explore Rick Beato’s What Makes This Song Great Series

Episode 194: Dua Lipa “Levitating”

-Her childhood memories helped shape the song

-When she thinks of the music she listened to as a kid she wants to get up and dance so she wanted to make something like that with a modern twist

-The producer had been looking for a certain synth for about six years and the first thing they played on it turned into “Levitating”

-In part of it she was talk-singing so people would know that she was British

-They used a talk box

Episode 193: Selena Gomez “Lose You To Love Me”

-“Selena teamed up with the Grammy winning production duo Mattman and Robin”

-She collaborated with Julia Michaels and Justin Tranter

-The producers were able to make the chanting sound like more people were singing

-Finneas added wind sounds

-The song is honest word for word

The Making Of Megan Thee Stallion’s “Savage” With J. White Did It | Deconstructed

-Producer J. White and Megan had been talking since 2018 but hadn’t been able to work together

-J. White uses pretty much the same drums for everything

The Making Of Ariana Grande’s “thank u, next” With Social House & TBHits | Deconstructed

-Ariana wanted a “good vibe” for the song

They already had some loops that sounded good and they just sped them up

What Makes This Song Great? Ep.45 THE CHAINSMOKERS

-The song is only in 3 chords

-“They use a swell that sucks you into the verse”

-The upbeats are what give the song interest

-The chorus has three voices singing-Normal octave, lower octave and higher octave

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • Today I learned about how some famous songs that I like are made. I also made something that I actually kind of like in SoundTrap which kind of happened by accident. I didn’t have any problems today(or at least that I could remember).

TODAY’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 3.5

I liked hearing people talk about the process of making a certain song.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 4

Probably the videos because I could write notes and SoundTrap because I was making something.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *